Kreg Owners' Community

I am new to the notion of Harbor Freight.  One opened near me recently.  I needed a rubber mallet for some furniture repair and refinishing and they had one for $2 and seems to work fine.

They seemed to have a lot of stuff in there including power tools, but I had never heard of the store brand they were carrying.  Most people on these forums have much more experience with power tools and woodworking than myself, so I wanted to ask you all what you thought of Harbor Freight quality for power tools or any other products.

My only exposure to power tools were with brands like DeWalt, Ryobi, Milwaukee, Craftsman, and Porter Cable....I seem to trust these brands because most reputable stores sell them.  I probably would pay more and stick with a trusted brand, but wanna know what you guys think.

Views: 1554

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Ok this is what I know second hand from friends who are avid do it yourselfers and from a purchase of a dolly from them myself.  Be careful about many of their power tool products as they are offshore products and sometimes not standard sized for refills and such.  Not high quality you do get what you pay for.  The dolly I had was very lightly made and eventually bent while moving a fridge for a friend.  

One friend who builds CNC machines at home for fun, LOL said it to me this way: If you only need it a few times a year and dont mind less than stellar accuracy they are ok.  

Again remember most of this is second hand info coming to me so it should be taken that way.