Kreg Owners' Community

In May I purchased a Foreman DB210. I'm a novice woodworker and have only used the Foreman on one project, a media center cabinet. The only other project I have used it on was a small entry table I built in just the last couple of weeks. Last week the tip of the drill bit broke off and so I bought a new drill bit. Last night while using the new drill bit it also broke off at the tip. I only got about twenty pocket holes drilled with the new bit. I am using 3/4 inch pine plywood and am not using a lot of force or pressure to drill the pocket holes. Would anyone have an idea why these drill bits are breaking on me? I can't afford to buy drill bits at that rate.

Views: 224

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Sorry to hear that, Greg. Your bits may be defective. Please get in touch with Technical Support at toll-free 800-447-8638 or technicalsupport@kregtool.com. They will make this right for you. Thanks! 

Thanks for your response. I will call technical support.

Greg, this happened to me too but I believe it was my fault... I was so happy with my jig I think I started going to fast... meaning, I had a 56 pieces of 2x4 stock and each one required two holes. I thought I can speed trough those but caught myself pulling to fast on the handle and the tip broke off. I replaced it with a new one and slowed it down a bit.  I have now drilled at least 500 holes with the second bit and it is still going strong.

just a thought.

Thank you Carlos. That could be the issue. I was using 3/4 inch plywood, but I didn't think I was going too fast. I will keep it in mind though to slow down.

Thanks.